John · Psalm

Nothing Without You

John 15.5, vine and the branches, Jesus is the vine, remain in Christ, apart from Him we can do nothing, we can do nothing, remain, abide, bear much fruit, bear fruit, sunset, anawangin, zambales, philippines, sky, sea, mountain, sun, dark blue sky, orange sun, orange sky, beach, horizon, more fun in the philippines
Anawangin Cove, Zambales, Philipines | April 2010

I have been trying to write something for this week’s post but I cannot seem to come up with something substantial. Last week, I started to draft the continuation of my previous post – “God’s Battle (Part 2)”. Then I tried to edit and add something to it on Saturday, Monday and Tuesday but there’s nothing coming out. I tried to write a new draft and even a new topic but I still cannot complete it. I don’t think it’s because I am experiencing writer’s block or maybe I am but I have only been writing about my journey and there’s a lot to write plus I also have my journals to look at. It’s just not as fluid as before.

As I believe this is something the Lord prodded me to do, I have somehow committed to do this every week. I asked Him, “Do You really want me to do this? I cannot think of anything; if You really want me to do this then You have to help me.”

I also thought maybe I am just pressuring myself to be able to consistently do this every week. What if the Lord wants me to take a break for now? I am also preoccupied with a lot of more important things that need to be accomplished this week: work deadlines, study for the lesson on Friday, etc. Maybe I need to finish the lesson first. Maybe I can just share short devotionals on my Bible readings. Maybe I need to be able to adjust to the Lord’s leading and not just insist on my own scheduled routines. I don’t know, maybe I am just blabbering. 😛

Hence I would like this to be another reminder for myself. That everything I know and can do are all from Him. I am nothing and have nothing without the Lord. It is only because of His wisdom, knowledge, grace and strength that I am able to do anything.  Apart from Him I am nothing. (John 15:5) Apart from Him, I am not able to do anything that would bring Him glory and is of eternal value. I say to the LORD, “You are my Lord; apart from you I have no good thing.” (Psalm 16:2)

Leave a Reply

